Getting Rid of RE: – Is There a Reason to Reply All?

Home Forums Miscellaneous Getting Rid of RE: – Is There a Reason to Reply All?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Henry Brown Henry Brown 1 year, 11 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Lindsey Tepe
    Lindsey Tepe
    Participant

Is ‘Reply All’ really such a dreadful thing? I recently came across an article, Eradicating ‘Reply All’, which makes a compelling case for getting rid of – or at least limiting the availability of ‘Reply All’. In the article, they seem to make a few cases for getting rid of the function:

1) Mistaken use – employees occasionally embarrass themselves by accidentally using it

2) Poor judgement – the feature is used for personal reasons, like concert tickets

3) Lack of content – more often than not, they lack any substance and simply create clutter

As a former teacher, I distinctly remember the stream of 30 individual “Reply All” emails to Potluck invitations, each listing a different casserole that was claimed for the event. I understand the annoyance, and time wasted, having to sort through each of those individual emails and dispose of them.

As a current gmail user, however, I wonder if the bigger question isn’t Why can’t Outlook (and other email providers) better manage conversation threads? Is there really a solid case for eradicating ‘Reply All’, or is the issue that providers treat each ‘Reply All’ as an new individual email, rather than part of an email thread?

Profile photo of Henry Brown
    Henry Brown
    Participant

EDUCATION EDUCATION EDUCATION

Have worked with organizations which spent a considerable amount of time training the user communitee on the correct use of the Reply All button and the payoff was signficant!