Why Would I Want To Be A Government Employee?

Home Forums Human Resources Why Would I Want To Be A Government Employee?

This topic contains 47 replies, has 21 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Brian Hoxie Brian Hoxie 2 years, 5 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Josh Nankivel
    Josh Nankivel
    Participant

Each week, GovLoop and the Washington Post host a “Question of the week” to get a sense of what government employees are thinking on a topic that’s important to them. It turns out that they liked this post and would like to feature it. Please share your opinions openly in the comments section below. A representative from GovLoop will contact you if they would like to use a quote from you in the Federal Buzz column.

I’m a federal contractor, and I must be honest. Becoming a government employee as many I’ve worked with in the past have done has held no appeal for me.

I’m not exactly sure why. I don’t know if it’s a rational fear or not. Perhaps I think I’ll get drowned in bureaucracy more than I already am.

So tell me, why would someone want to work for the government instead of a private organization?

Profile photo of Brian Hoxie
    Brian Hoxie
    Participant

I suggest answering your question with a question: Is someone who works for the government a “Government Employee” or a “Public Servant?”

I choose the later and I think it captures a lot about my career choice. Perhaps it might help you determine yours.

Profile photo of Kanika Tolver
    Kanika Tolver
    Participant

One has to find a government job that they are passionate about. That is hard to find, it make take years to get into a federal job that excites you everyday.

Profile photo of Peter Sperry
    Peter Sperry
    Participant