Julia Cerenzia
Participant

I am a mid-career professional with more than 12 years of experience in federal and state government. I left my federal career in 2005 to pursue my PhD in Public Policy and I look forward to returning to my career soon, using my new skills to improve policy formation and implementation.

After completing my undergraduate studies, I worked for the State of Montana. I was truly inspired by that work and it set my feet firmly on a public sector path. Following my Master’s Degree, I joined the U.S. Department of Commerce as a Presidential Management Intern (now called Fellows). I loved every minute of my career as a federal employee. Yet, like most civil servants I was often frustrated by the ineffectiveness of some policies and programs. A recurring question—“ How did we get such a messed up policy/program?” – led me to my doctoral studies. The new skills I have honed through this degree have exceeded my expectations. I have greatly improved my critical thinking and my ability to analyze policies, the programs through which they are implemented, and the processes from which they spring. At the same time, my long career as a civil servant gives me an appreciation of the realities and everyday obstacles that can impede or pervert implementation despite the best efforts of many talented and dedicated people.