Samuel Adam Berkman
Participant

During the time I was earning my undergraduate degree, I took an Introduction to Sociology course. This social science illuminated my mind to the vast weaving of social constructs that form our society: privileges, restrictions, advantages, disadvantages. It was as if all of a sudden I had been taken backstage at a play where all of the inner workings were revealed to me. On the last day of class, my professor told us students that we have a responsibility, as educated citizens, to “leave the world a better place” than we found it. I graduated with a minor in Sociology.

It was after graduation that I found myself faced with social issues I had learned about and the words of my professor echoing in my head. My time in college had served me well to identify the hurdles we face as a nation, but I was still lacking the knowledge and means to do something about them. I therefore decided that I would pursue a Master of Public Administration (MPA) degree, and am currently scheduled to begin my coursework in the MPA program at the George Washington University in Fall 2010. This will allow me to learn in greater detail about the system and procedures through which I wish to make change—to make ours a better nation.