Jana Opperman
Participant

I seem to take on the manager role myself and ask a lot of questions, I try to figure out how best to handle them! I find it is hard to get people to understand my point in a discussion about serious issues, well my ideas usually are a bit different than what they are used to (I’m out of the proverbial box!). I do think differently than most people. I was a teacher for 12 years so I could just do what I had to do without much supervisor input telling me how to do it unless I asked for assistance. In fact I often ran workshops for teachers-I was often asked what I do when there are certain troubles in the classroom…

Then when I quit teaching I was given a reference letter that ravished all sorts of kudos on me and I said thanks for the “lying” and my supervisor explained I was one of the best science teachers he had seen. I had no idea I was one of those “great teachers”! It turns out I had to quit the career when I tried to come back to teaching after 5 years of being a SAHM (Stay at Home Mom) due to too much experience, so I was back to thinking I wasn’t that good again.