Gabe Gabrielsen
Participant

Hi Gabe Gabielsen here – This is and Excellent Question

Let me throw in my 2 cents on this subject. The short is it depends. I am a local government consultant. I work with cities, counties, townships, boroughs, villages, parishes and school boards all over the country. My specialties are Economic Development, Facility Construction and Organizational Effectiveness. In addition, I am professional associations and trade organizations often invite me to present workshops and seminars at their annual conventions and conferences.

When I receive an unsolicited invitation to Link I immediately scan the person’s or organization’s bio. If the invitation is from a person or company that sells phone services, investments, real estate, cars, insurance etc. I ignore the invitation – because has nothing to do with my targeted Linked In profile.

If on the other hand it is from someone in a local government unit or a professional association I immediately accept the invitation they sent and them I sent them a short message informing them I accepted their invitation and ask them “Why did you want to link with me”. 99% of the time they’ll come back saying a colleague forwarded them one of my articles, told them about a program they heard me present or shared with them a copy of my book. Sometimes these unsolicited invitations come from individuals who are looking for potential resources to contact with problems in their organization.