Am I Crazy to Leave My Federal Position?

Home Forums Careers Am I Crazy to Leave My Federal Position?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Pamela Adala Pamela Adala 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Tina Michelle Sims
    Tina Michelle Sims
    Participant

My relationship to the Department of Defense starts back in my childhood. My earliest memories involve on-base shopping and visiting the library on bases in Germany that have long since closed. My parents are both government employees and I have been working with DoD for 12 years until now. As of this Friday, I am resigning my position to work for myself and spend more time with my small children. Am I crazy?

I don’t think I will regret the time I spend with my children, but will I regret giving up my position? My small business writing resumes, including federal resumes and federal job search assistance seems to be able to provide the missing income, but will I miss the security of the position I am leaving?

It’s especially difficult to make this decision since I DO help people who are looking for a government job. I know how coveted a federal position can be. My director told me yesterday he has already received four calls for my job. So, I am definitely replaceable and if I change my mind in six months or a year, I will have all of those people to compete with.

Being stuck at the GS11 position for almost 11 of my 12 years doesn’t make me feel confident of my ability to build a solid career with promotion potential, even though I live in the D.C. area. Therefore, I am a little jaded about the lack of opportunities to move up.

I know I will be O.K. no matter what, but will I have an opportunity to jump back in if I want to in the future? I am not going to count on it. At the same time, I am not going to miss this chance to be closer to my children in these early years just because I am afraid.