Any Advice for an aspiring Emergency Preparedness professional?

Home Forums Careers Any Advice for an aspiring Emergency Preparedness professional?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  elena rapisardi 8 years ago.

• Author

Brian Bovaird
    Participant

Hello everybody! I am brand new to govloop, although I hear about it ALL THE TIME from Mary Davie, and thought I would start this thread with the hope for some feedback. I am currently a professional firefighter in Baltimore City looking to make a career progression into emergency preparedness and planning within the Federal Government. While I am also open to the private sector, most of my family works for the Federal Government and it seems like it would be a good fit for me as well. I am interested in staying in the DC/Baltimore region and know that there are lots of opportunities. Obviously FEMA is a good place to begin my search, and I also understand that a lot of agencies and centers have in house experts to create and manage issues such as continuity of operations planning (COOP), all-hazards preparedness, and disaster exercises. This is the type of work that I am interested in pursuing. Some of the questions that I have are:

• What is the scoop on USA Jobs? Is this a good host of opportunities or a waste of my time?
    • I have a business administration degree and I am interested in getting a Masters in Emergency Planning, should I start now and attempt to take advantage of some type of coop hire or wait until I find a position and negotiate education reimbursement?
    • Does anyone know of any individuals involved in this field that would be willing to take a few minutes and chat with me about making myself more marketable and navigating some of the challenges of “cracking the shell” into the world of the Federal government?