Benefits of commuting to your 3D Virtual Office?

Home Forums Technology Benefits of commuting to your 3D Virtual Office?

This topic contains 30 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Henry Brown 7 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

Chris Cairns
    Participant

Pat’s recent blog post, “Is Video the Core of Telework?”, got me thinking about other technologies that could be used to improve the teleworking experience (productivity, engagement, trust, etc.). Back when I was a consultant at IBM, one of the CTO’s there had a completely virtual team. Since his team didn’t have a physical location to meet and interact (by nature of being virtual), the manager created a 3D Virtual Office in Second Life, similar to what is described in this article by CNN. (Every member on the team had their own 3D custom avatar.)

For you teleworkers out there, what do you think of the idea of a 3D Virtual Office to facilitate remote collaboration? What would the benefits be? And, most importantly, for you guys, would you go with pleated or flat-front on your 3D avatar’s trousers?

Henry Brown
    Participant

pluses:

could be less time spent on worrying about how everyone appears.

multi-tasking would/could be the accepted norm

managers “might” have more control

minus

more skills could be required to be dedicated to “managing” the “avatar”.

multi-tasking would/could be the accepted norm

managers “might” have more control

hardware costs could be an issue

Chris Cairns
    Participant

Good analysis on the pluses and minuses. They whole managerial control issue stems from poor performance management. Any manager who needs to institute virtual controls to monitor how his/her employee spends time is a poor manager. Manage the results.

Corey McCarren
    Participant