Can We Show Movie Clip During Government Meeting?

Home Forums Technology Can We Show Movie Clip During Government Meeting?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Mark Hammer 4 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

Crystal Couillard
    Participant

Hello! I am in need of some expert advice from the GovLoop community as I am new to the government sector.

Our mayor wants to show a clip from a movie during our State of the City meeting later this spring. Does anyone have any information on if we can legally do this?

In a perfect world, we would just play the clip from the DVD or from YouTube (I did find the video clip in question on YouTube).

The issue might be complicated by the fact that the State of the City meeting will be broadcast on our PEG channel as well as streamed on our website.

Any advice on if we can show the movie clip or how to do about getting rights to do so would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much-

Crystal Couillard
    City of Eagan, MN

Mark Hammer
    Participant

Movie clips are a bit like using quotes in essays. In their own mind, people think of them as saying exactly what they want to say. But they neglect the attendant clumsiness of sequeing into and out of the clip/quote, neither of which were ever designed to merge smoothly with something other than what they first appeared in.

Probably more trouble than it’s worth. And the last thing one needs is to stand there like an idiot while someone else struggles to figure out, under pressure, why you can get sound but no picture, picture but no sound, whether folks at the back can see/hear it, whether the wires are taped down well enough that nobody trips over them, etc.

Crystal Couillard
    Participant

Thanks Mark!

jnnfrsmmns
    Participant