certification?

Home Forums Careers certification?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Steve Ressler 5 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

Patrick O’Malia
    Participant

Does anyone have any suggestions on the most useful certifications to pursue to make yourself more attractive to potential employers? I have a Master of Public Admin but have not really specialized in anything. I am currently going after my Cert. Govt. Financial Manager but have a real interest in community/economic development, project management, city administration, grant writing, etc. Can any of you offer some suggestions? Anything would be appreciated.

Steve Ressler
    Keymaster

From one of my friend:

Lots of folks like the PMP… Doesn’t include me. I prefer certifications in the school of hard knocks…

Kathleen Smith
    Participant

Patrick

Yes PMP is a big one. The best way to find out what kind of certifications you are looking for is to go to various job boards, look at the jobs that you would eventually want to apply for and look to see what kinds of certifications they are asking for in the job description.

Kathleen

Paul Binkley
    Participant

I agree about the PMP. It’s even been mentioned among my faculty that the PMP would be a great addition to a MPA. It can take a long time to get though, because, as I understand it, you need to have a number of project management experience under your belt before you can start the certification process. On the other hand, you should talk with others in your field/profession about what they have or what they consider to be distinctive.

Daniel Mintz
    Participant

The answer is greatly impacted by what you want to be considered for.

Two ‘general’ certifications that are very useful to have in the services space are ITIL training and PMP. The former is a standard methodology for looking at structured processes, the latter supports the thought you have a good background for managing projects.