Contracting Careers

Home Forums Careers Contracting Careers

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Sterling Whitehead 7 years, 12 months ago.

• Author

Brett Harrison
    Participant

I am new to contract management and acquisition and having a tough time getting my foot in the door with any entry level or internship positions practicing contracting. I do have a BS in management and finishing a masters cert. in contract management both government and commercial. I have also become a member of the NCMA, there is no local chapter in my state (Oregon). What else can I do to make my resume and credentials look more attractive to an HR manager??? Please help. I am committed to entering this career field.

Sterling Whitehead
    Participant

Brett, you’re the 2nd person a few days that I’ve seen ask this question. I’m gonna be doing a blog post in a few days about this very thing, but I can give you a few pointers right now.

1) Consider starting your own NCMA chapter in your area. That speaks initiative.
    2) Ignore Monster, Craigslist and HotJobs. Too much competition, especially with people will to take paycuts.
    3) Get a web presence. Start a blog on contracting and connect with bloggers to promote your content. This will pay big dividends. I started mine just a few months ago and I’ve met some influential people.

I hope this helps. Let me know if there is anything else I can do to help you.

Amanda Blount
    Participant