Copyright & the Internet

Home Forums Miscellaneous Copyright & the Internet

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Justin Mosebach 7 years, 9 months ago.

• Author

Tricia
    Participant

So what ARE the rules?? Searched the internet and couldn’t find anything pertaining to copyright law as it specifically relates to articles/blogs posted on a website and if you, the reader puts that write-up on another website. My thoughts are that you have given credit and cited the source if you post the article in its entirety, you must provide the source (list the website), the author, and date it was published (if it is listed), and including the link to the article on the website where you found the written piece. Is this not correct?

Justin Mosebach
    Participant

I’m not a lawyer and this should not be taken as legal advice, but here’s some research I’ve previously done on this kind of thing:

Blog Law Blog
    – “A while back, I noted that under most circumstances, there is no good argument that reposting an entire newspaper story on the web qualifies as fair use under U.S. copyright law.”

Here’s part of what the AP’s website terms are (not sure if this also applies to its news content):
    – 5. Except as provided in this agreement, you may not copy, reproduce, publish, transmit, transfer, sell, rent, modify, create derivative works from, distribute, repost, perform, display, or in any way commercially exploit the Materials carried on this site, nor may you infringe upon any of the copyrights or other intellectual property rights contained in the Materials. You may not remove or alter, nor cause to be removed or altered, any copyright, trademark, or other proprietary notices or visual marks and logos from the Materials.

Here’s what Reuters has for their Copyright on the website: