Does the Leader Need to be an Expert??

Home Forums Leadership and Management Does the Leader Need to be an Expert??

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Andrew Krzmarzick 5 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

Henry Brown
    Participant

This is a rather old argument AND one that I suspect will never go away…

Have heard

that you can’t be a good leader without being an expert in the field you are trying to lead…

that the best leaders are NOT experts…

others thoughts?!?

From Mary Jander’s Blog:

For CIOs, Tech Expertise Isn’t Essential

I’m not an engineer, and years ago, as a young technology reporter, I recall more than one moment when I regretted this fact heartily. Usually, those times occurred during live interviews and demonstrations, when it was clear that a technical detail had escaped me, and I had to plead for explanations the interviewee felt I shouldn’t have needed.

In one painful instance, I left a particularly knotty session in a hotel tradeshow suite, only to hear someone mutter behind my back, “Another crackerjack interview!” with a mocking titter.

Well, I’m no longer that beet-faced neophyte. I may even do some (hopefully harmless) tittering of my own now and then. Over time, I’ve learned that it’s more important to know what I don’t know than to be an expert in all things, particularly when I can’t command my inner engineer to exceed a particular level of competency.

Which brings me to my point (and yes, I do have one): Not every CIO has to be highly technical.

Still, the level of technical expertise a CIO requires continues to be debated industry-wide. In a current exchange on a LinkedIn group for CIOs, for instance, many commenters among the more than 120 who weighed in believed that business acumen was more important than technological know-how for IT execs. Still, being basically IT competent was considered essential.