Federal Careers Question

Home Forums Careers Federal Careers Question

This topic contains 1 reply, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Daniel 2 years, 3 months ago.

• Author

Daniel
    Participant

Hello all,

Looking for any potential help here. So I have been trying to get a civil service position overseas, Europe or Japan, for about a year and a half. I am currently a federal contractor and I do have military experience so vets preference and CPS (10 point preference). Also for reference I am a systems administrator so the 2210 series is where I am looking.

Over the last year and a half I have applied to about 30 or 40 positions. I know it sounds a little low but I have applied to almost all the open positions I see if I meet the requirements. Out of those 30 – 40 I have only been “Not Referred” to somewhere between 5 – 8. The rest I have been referred on the certified list. Only 1 or 2 did I get referred but not on the certified list as there were others that had a higher priority.

I have tried my best to tweak my resume for the position I apply for, admittedly I am bad at writing resumes, but I also did try to use a professional resume writer for federal positions but there were some problems with them understanding the technical aspects and using what I had to write something that fit the proper format and requirements better. (Maybe just a bad experience?)