GovLoop Rankings

Home Forums Miscellaneous GovLoop Rankings

This topic contains 21 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by  Patrick Quinn 7 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

John Moore
    Participant

Hey everyone, curious to hear your perspective on rankings on govloop, and on communities in general. How much do they motivate you to contribute, to be part of the conversation?

For example, I just saw my ranking change to Renowned….. Is that code for Talks too much πŸ™‚

Curious to hear your thoughts.

John

Patrick Quinn
    Participant

I’m a community manager myself, and I find that rankings (or thumbs-ups, or +1s or whatever) are most useful as landmarks for new members; they offer newcomers a little insight into the people w/ whom they’re interacting.

Rankings probably have some initial effect on contribution rates, but I think community response is a much bigger driver. If someone posts a contribution and generates a response, they’re much more likely to post another. If they post a contribution and receive little or no response, they’re less likely to contribute again.

John Moore
    Participant

Thanks for the feedback Patrick, great info. How large, roughly, is the community that you manage?

Patrick Quinn
    Participant

We’re small, about 950 total.

Matthew Hall
    Participant

It is probably the key factor early on that kept me coming back here. Without it, I would have certainly quit. I would be dissappointed if it was taken away.

I would however like to have more specific immediate feedback about how my ranking was effected by what I just did. e.g. how many points do I get for posting this comment?

Nina Adrianna
    Participant

For me, it’s irrelevant. But, I acknowledge that for a lot of people it’s a motivating factor.

Srinidhi Boray
    Participant