How can I be less threatening?

Home Forums Leadership and Management How can I be less threatening?

This topic contains 14 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by  Steve Ressler 7 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

Chris A. Cowan
    Participant

A few close co-workers have said that I can be “threatening” to supervisors. I have a lot of experience and education in my field (human and organizational learning) and I’m well aware that people that others may be threatened rather than impressed with my credentials. In general, I try to downplay my pedigree in favor of establishing my expertise through my performance. Yet, it appears that I still come off as threatening. I’m not looking to hear, “well, that’s just their problem” (I kinda already know it is), I’m just looking for some shared experience and some advice.

Steve Ressler
    Keymaster

Chris – great question.

Couple ideas:

1 -Pause and try to let others talk first at meetings. Even if you know the answer, the more you can pause and let others jump in first the better. Pick your battles and know when to jump in

2 -Personal bonding – Have you got to know these folks outside of meetings/projects? Take folks out for coffee, lunch, happy hour. Talk about football, kids, etc. Find that common bond where you can all relate

3 -And finally, you may never please everyone. So don’t get too shy or hide too much your credentials. If you are doing #1 and #2 right and still some people not happy, that’s normal and just deal with it. There’s always going to be some gossiping about being an overachiever and honestly thats fine (kind of like the kid getting A’s in class – you don’t have to be super annoying and raise hand all the time but even if you fix it, not everyone will stop hating)

Clemson G Turregano
    Participant