How do you deal with multiple managers?

Home Forums Leadership and Management How do you deal with multiple managers?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Mark Hammer 7 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

Hannah Ornell
    Participant

One of the Public Administration scholars I studied in graduate school, Frederick Taylor, advocated for organizations to have multiple “functional managers.” Instead of reporting to one manager, he thought an employee should report daily to up to 8 managers, each with a different area of specialization. While 8 bosses is a little overwhelming in practice, I bet it’s safe to assume that the majority of us have been in a position that required us to report to several managers.

Is it helpful to have multiple managers, one for a different aspect of your work? Or does that send mixed messages about what’s expected of you?

How do you manage having multiple managers?

Mark Hammer
    Participant

“You gotta serve somebody” – Dylan

A critical element missing from what you’ve listed here is the extent to which those multiple managers communicate with each other, or care about what the other managers want. I don’t think it is intrinsically problematic to be doing multiple things for multiple people, but those folks better damn well have realistic expectations, based on an appreciation of what others are asking for.