How often do you volunteer your professional skills?

Home Forums Miscellaneous How often do you volunteer your professional skills?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 11 voices, and was last updated by  Andrew Krzmarzick 7 years, 11 months ago.

• Author

Jen
    Participant

We’re talking about giving back on PM Boulevard this week. Do you volunteer your professional skills to nonprofits? How often?

I’ve been working with a couple non-profits here in Durham who are setting up networks like GovLoop – really rewarding to help them learn from our experiences and get to launch faster.

Chalyce Nollsch
    Participant

I think it’s great that we’re starting to get past the “hoarding of information.” I am truly amazed at all the good that’s being done by volunteers. Charge onward!

I’m a former teacher and coach. Currently, I get to assist with the boys’ high school PE class at our church twice a week. I also advise our church on matters related to social media. It’s great to be able to take these skills learned in the workplace and apply them in that setting.

Tricia
    Participant

I sure do! I’m involved with a couple of organizations. Each month it probably averages 10 hours of my time. It’s great to see the labors of your work, and success for the organizations and the people it serves! In fact, I’ve been busy promoting a job fair to help recently laid off census workers. We’ve got 26 employers participating (3 of which are government!). Anyone out there reading this hiring? They have already been vetted with FBI background checks & fingerprinting…who wouldn’t want to hire them! Pay it forward, right??

Tam Walton
    Participant