Hyperlinks on a Resume?

Home Forums Careers Hyperlinks on a Resume?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Camille Roberts 8 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

Patrick Fiorenza
    Participant

Tonight I was helping a friend put together her resume, she had a lot of really great examples of things she had written online, would you recommend hyperlinking the content in the resume?

My take is yes – why not direct people to content you have written, and if I was a hiring manager, I would go off looking for it anyways, why not make it easier?

That is just me and was curious if there is any standard on this, and compelling reasons not to do it, so appreciate your thoughts! Thanks!

Camille Roberts
    Participant

Hi Pat,

You probably know my answer which is: it depends. I expect you will get mixed comments on this, but I will give you (and others) some things to think about when hyperlinking on a résumé. The employment landscape has changed and hiring officials and recruiters are not only using the Internet and social media more often to research candidates, but RELYING on the Internet for that information. There are numerous venues for a candidate to “brand” themselves and use social media to their advantage if done correctly.

• Will the “hyperlinked” page add value to the cause?
    • Does it support the candidate’s goals?
    • Will it encourage the reader to go back to the résumé, or compel the reader to want to learn even more about the candidate?
    • Does it give the reader another breadcrumb to follow in discovering the value of the candidate? For example, let’s say the hyperlink goes to LinkedIn. Is the profile complete? Is the summary compelling enough to get the reader to invite the candidate to connect? Does the profile make it easy for the reader to connect? If not, re-write that first. Someone who is not a connection cannot see the whole profile, so it has to be an attention grabber…and quick!