If Project Management is Common Sense, Then Why Do 70% of Projects Fail?

Home Forums Program and Project Management If Project Management is Common Sense, Then Why Do 70% of Projects Fail?

This topic contains 22 replies, has 19 voices, and was last updated by  Corey McCarren 5 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

Bill Brantley
    Participant

This was spurred by a student’s comment in my project management communication class that everything I have been talking about is common sense.

“Exactly!” I said. “Now, would you also agree that losing weight is just a matter of eating less and exercising more?”

“Yes, ” she said.

“Then, why do we have so many diet commercials on TV, diet books in the bookstore, and we still have an obesity epidemic?” I asked.

Maybe project management isn’t common sense? Discuss.

Corey McCarren
    Participant

I’m not a project manager, at least not now, but I’d bet that in theory that student is on to something. However when applied, Murphy’s Law takes effect, and that’s where the real project management skill comes in. Plus, remembering steps to the process is important, even if the process seems like common sense.

Deb Green
    Participant

Common knowledge? Sure. Common practice? Not so much….

Josh Nankivel
    Participant

I’m also going to blame DOD-STD-2167 in the 80’s standardizing on waterfall for software projects and making a big influence on software development projects everywhere. They replaced it with MIL-STD-498 in 1994 which supports iterative development, but the damage of organizational momentum had been done.

Yes, I think the waterfall mentality is largely to blame for project failure.

There is this idea in government that you can rationalize away human emotion (especially negative emotion) by instituting processes for everything. Project management is essentially a nice way of saying “Let’s get people together and make them work on something.” When in human history has that ever been easy or common sense-driven?