Looking for opinions regarding my Pathways internship

Home Forums Miscellaneous Looking for opinions regarding my Pathways internship

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Steve Ressler 3 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

Reenie DeSaini

I’m a non-traditional student, single status, and currently enrolled in a MPA program at one of local universities in the D.C. metro area. I already have a Masters in another discipline. I’ve been trying to get a federal government job for several years, but would get knocked out of the running when competing with veterans.

So I finally decided to be “sneaky” (okay, not really) and go back to grad school in order to apply to federal internships and get my foot into the door that way. Well, my plan worked! I’ve been selected for a 1-year Pathways internship and the background check is current in progress. I have no doubt that I will pass the background check.

So what’s the problem? I’m currently a defense contractor with one of the big defense contracting firms in the area. I would be taking a 58% pay cut by accepting this internship. It would also mean taking out a student loan, which I haven’t had to do because of my current, nice salary. I have savings that I can dip into for 12-months, but my savings will pretty much be used up after 12 months. And if I do not get converted over to a permanently employee after 1-year, then I’m really SOL. I have a mortgage too.

Ideally, I would have loved to landed this internship next summer, when I’m almost finished with my MPA….because I wouldn’t have to go into student debt at the age of 35. Granted, it would be only a 20K debt, which isn’t too extreme…but still…debt is debt.