Recycling: Now with Seized Money and Property

Home Forums Leadership and Management Recycling: Now with Seized Money and Property

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Conor Cusack, MPA 4 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

Conor Cusack, MPA
    Participant

There are now over 100 recyclable materials in industries including automobiles, electronics, yard-waste, glass, household products, and metals. Materials that otherwise would be discarded into landfills.

Although I am a big fan, I am by no means an expert on recycling. ”Recycling is a process to change materials (waste) into new products to prevent waste of potentially useful materials, reduce the consumption of fresh raw materials, reduce energy usage, reduce air pollution (from incineration) and water pollution (from landfilling) by reducing the need for “conventional” waste disposal, and lower greenhouse gas emissions as compared to plastic production. Recycling is a key component of modern waste reduction and is the third component of the “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle” waste hierarchy.”

A review of the above convinces me that recycling is a worthwhile effort — and one that helps protect the environment via reduction waste and harmful pollution. Words that come to mind when I think about recycling are sustainability, environmental protection, and investment in our future. Investment for our future? Absolutely. When I regularly fill four containers with recyclables each week (insert admission of guilt: I started recycling with one bin and rarely filled it), I am hopeful that future generations will reap the benefits.

Recycling helps the environment? Check. Will there be a continuous stream of consumables to recycle for generations to come? With one hundred materials and counting, I’ll bet on it. Is recycling more impactful with more people and communities contributing? No doubt.