Seeking a job in government relations and engagement

Home Forums Careers Seeking a job in government relations and engagement

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Steve Ressler 7 years ago.

• Author

Alan Raisman
    Participant

I graduated last May with a Bachelor of Arts degree from Lafayette College, majoring in Government and Law as well as International Affairs. Throughout my college career I have been intensely involved in the city of Easton, Pennsylvania and its community.

While at Lafayette College, I helped establish a group to create greater town-gown relations between Lafayette College and the community in Easton, PA. In the fall of my sophomore year, I started a research project called One Word – One City; I asked the people of Easton to describe their home in one word in an attempt to understand the community and those who lived there. I was asked to present my research at Easton City Council, Easton’s chapter of the Pennsylvania Weed and Seed, and the Arts Community of Easton. My understanding of the community and the people of Easton grew quickly, and I continued to attend Easton City Council meetings for the following two years as well as sitting on both the Community Restoration Committee and the Safety Committee of Easton’s Weed and Seed.

In order to create a more personal relationship with the people of Easton, I became the first Lafayette College student volunteer with Easton’s Main Street program and the first student member of the Easton Environmental Advisory Council. I also served as the secretary of the College Hill Neighborhood Association for one year, the first Lafayette College student to sit on their Executive Committee. My committee roles offered me the opportunity to engage with the Departments of Public Works, Economic Development, and Planning for the city of Easton, PA.