STUDENT LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM

Home Forums Acquisitions STUDENT LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM

This topic contains 15 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Rebecca Schreiber 8 years, 9 months ago.

• Author

Natia Johnson
    Participant

What agencies are participating in the student loan repayment program? What is the application process like? Should more agencies participate in this program? Please share…

I am an acquisition professional and my agency does not participate in this program 🙁

Rebecca Schreiber
    Participant

I have a client at VA who received a $10,000 loan repayment bonus two years ago so the agency participates – they just may not have the budget dollars. Something to be aware of, though, is that this bonus is taxable to you. This means that the bonus could eat up your tax refund.

Natia Johnson
    Participant

Wow, I didn’t know that. Thanks for sharing Rebecca.

Andrew Humulock
    Participant

I submitted paperwork for my agency, VA a few months ago and am waiting to hear what will happen. With the large changes occuriring in Federal pay and job freezes, it is hard to say who will offer this type of incentive. I suggest, you “shop around” they usually say in the job announcements if they will be offered. If you do, make sure you get it in writing, or even see if they will pay before or right after you are hired.

Natia Johnson
    Participant

Good advice. Thank you Andrew! I hope VA approves your loan repayment application soon.

Sandra Yeaman
    Participant

State Department was one of the first agencies to offer a Student Loan Repayment Program. The amount has always been below the maximum the law allows, but it has spread the money out to benefit the largest possible number of employees as a result.

It’s not an easy process to qualify for since the implementing regulations put some gates in the language on when the authority can be used — there are fewer gates for recruitment than for retention.