Talk to Me: Formats for Performance Reviews?

Home Forums Budgeting Talk to Me: Formats for Performance Reviews?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  JohnnyZero 7 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

Melanie M. Keller
    Participant

I have been a manager for over 10 years, but I am always looking for FRESH and new formats and styles to conduct performance reviews! What do you do? I’ve been at my Agency since December, and I’m getting ready to conduct mid-year performance reviews. So, I want to hear what you LIKE, or what works best for you for your performance reviews. I like for these to be engaging and my favorite is when the employee does most of the talking! đŸ™‚ I’m a really big on continuous feedback, so my performance reviews are in the “no surprises here” category.

Let me hear it? What works for you?I

JohnnyZero
    Participant

This is my first year of giving reviews at the County law library. I have decided that if a staff member is still around at the end of the year, I want them there. My thinking: it is up to the supervisor to provide performance corrections and input at the time it happens. By the end of the year it is unfair and unwise to heap a laundry list of errors on an employee. I believe in morale building, so each review has been accomplished with a self-evaluation and then a meeting discussing where we are heading in the year to come and that staff member’s role in it. AND how lucky we are to have that person. We have instituted a team-based culture that employees team member critiques — so other team members are assessing the weight each person is pulling. It is effective.

Sam Allgood
    Participant