What Cloud Services Do You Use at Home?

Home Forums Technology What Cloud Services Do You Use at Home?

This topic contains 13 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Jeffrey Levy 7 years, 11 months ago.

• Author

Steve Ressler
    Keymaster

Cloud computing is the buzzword in government these days…I always look to see how I’m using things at home to see how they could potentially be applied at work.

So I’m asking:
    What cloud services do you use to manage home life/work that replaced other models?

For example, I tried using Mozy a cloud back-up instead of using an external hard drive

I use Pandora more and more instead of having music on my hard drive…

I use Mint for personal finance instead of Quicken installed on my computer…

You?

Jeffrey Levy
    Participant

First! Heh. I’ve never done that before, so figured I’d see how it feels. 🙂

Anyway, I use gmail, and I’ve recently started using Google docs for some stuff like my racquetball league schedule so I can quickly check from home or work.

To some extent, of course, social media is the cloud. Instead of using dedicated apps like ichat or AIM, I use Twitter to talk with colleagues and Facebook to share w/friends.

I use shutterfly to share photos with family instead of emailing them around.

I’ve never used any of the backup, music, or finance apps.

Steve Ressler
    Keymaster

Good point…almost all social media tools are cloud by nature (all personal emails – gmail/hotmail/yahoo….Twitter/FB/LinkedIn….etc)

I wonder what other good comparisons are b/w consumer and enterprise with cloud.

I think backup software, finance, and music are good examples. Anything else?

I haven’t used Sonos or Rhapsody but a lot use them for Video.

In some ways my DVR is kind of cloud-like…I don’t “own” the recordings in a way that is easy for me to keep.

In many ways, Google Docs is starting to fill this need for me…along with Google Calendar and some of their other tools.