What new advice would you give job seekers in 2011?

Home Forums Miscellaneous What new advice would you give job seekers in 2011?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Mark Boelte 6 years, 11 months ago.

• Author

Curt Canada
    Participant

Unemployment remains over 9% and perhaps lower inside the beltway. We are all looking for a brighter picture in 2011. What if any words of wisdom or advice would you like to impart for anyone seeking employment? Tips etc?

Mark Boelte
    Participant

I would not advise any changes from what I have been telling people for the last two years. Networking is your best chance to find a job, customize your resume for each position so it can be scanned in 10 seconds or less and prepare for interview questions instead of winging it. (That is the very, very, very short version of what I teach in Workshops).

Jaqi Ross
    Participant

Network with insiders to learn everything you can about an organization, and put that knowledge to work when you craft a resume tailored to the position you apply for.

Tom Worthington
    Participant

Don’t stop improving your education. This need not be a full formal course, but could be something short and practical. Employers like to see that you have taken the initiative to improve your skills.

Eric Erickson
    Participant

I would say to be patient – getting a job with the government can sometimes take a bit longer than being hired in the private sector – but once in, it’s totally worth the wait and very rewarding!

Eric Hackathorn
    Participant

I would give them a copy of the twelve step guide to being a change agent:

Steve Ressler
    Keymaster

I’d send in fewer applications but spend more time on each application. And be creative – not just mail it in. Find a networked way in, show up at event the hirer may be at

Tam Walton
    Participant