NAGC’s Communicator of the Year Nominations

Do you know an outstanding government communicator? A public servant or
organization that set an example for others in 2012?

Each year, the National Association of Government Communicators recognizes a
government communicator who has exemplified the best or most innovative
communications practices and helped instill public trust by effectively
presenting accurate, timely and meaningful information, sometimes under
exceptional circumstances.

NAGC is now accepting nominations for its “Communicator of the Year” award.
The deadline for entering a nomination is January 11, 2013 and the winner will
be honored at NAGC’s 2013 Communications
School in Arlington, VA,
April 16-19.

Past winners include:

Judy Gish, Public Information Officer for the
California Department of Transportation’s (Caltrans) District 7, who
coordinated communications for the “Carmeggedon”
closing of I-405 in Los Angeles
during a mid-July weekend.

U.S. Coast Guard Adm. Thad Allen (Ret.),
National Incident Commander during the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf
of Mexico.

Linda Wilson, I-64 Community Relations Manager,
Missouri Department of Transportation, for handling the closing down of a major interstate highway to 2.5 million
residents of a metropolitan region to replace 10 miles of Interstate 64 in St.

David Walker, former Comptroller General of the United States,
for sounding the warning about government finances.

Max Mayfield, Director of the National Hurricane Center in Miami, Florida.

More details about the NAGC Communicator of the Year, eligibility requirements
and nomination instruction here.
Who do you think deserves mention as the “best of the best” for
2012? Submit your nomination today!

Original post

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply