2023 NextGen Public Service Award Winners

image of a group of four public servants

The winners are in!

We are proud to announce the winners of the Annual NextGen Public Service Awards for superior public service and achievement. The awards recognize deserving individuals selected from the public service community for their intelligence, exuberance and dedication to improving and invigorating government.

The award categories and respective winners are listed below. Please explore our official NextGen Award Booklet for more information on each winner to learn, in their own words, what public service means to them. Please join us in celebrating and congratulating our 2023 award winners!

NextGen Public Service Award Categories and Winners

Advancing Tech Pioneers

This category recognizes a forward thinker who has used technology as part of their approach to transformation. This individual is innovative, trying to move their agency to tools such as artificial intelligence or machine learning that allow employees more time to do mission-critical work.

2023 Award Winners:

Managers/Supervisors of the Year
This category recognizes a manager or supervisor who goes above and beyond for their team and individual contributors. They care about their team, show up for them, listen to their ideas and advocate needs to upper management.

2023 Award Winners:

Outstanding Colleague
This category recognizes an individual who goes above and beyond day-to-day requirements. Whether they volunteer to run meetings, contribute ideas or help colleagues in need, you can always count on them to pull their weight and more.

2023 Award Winners:

DEIA Champions
This category recognizes individuals who are passionate about diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility (DEIA) in the workplace. They have actively improved or implemented processes, initiatives, training, awareness or other efforts that promote DEIA at their agency.

2023 Award Winners:

Communicators of the Year
This category recognizes an individual who demonstrates internal and external strategic communication at their agency. This person will push the envelope to find innovative ways to share their message while keeping employees and stakeholders engaged.

2023 Award Winners:

Innovators of the Year
This category recognizes an individual who has identified and improved their organization in an innovative way – whether this employee improved remote/hybrid work, brought a process up-to-date or found a way to enhance the organization’s culture.

2023 Award Winners:

Selection Process:

Two award winners are selected for each category. For each category, nominees must:
  • Be dedicated to public service at the local, state, or federal level.
  • Have made an impact on their work or their colleagues.
  • Continue to strive for excellence and advance their organization’s mission in a positive manner.

Each nominee is thoughtfully considered for the award by a selection committee.

The selection committee scores each nominee based solely on what is provided via the nomination form and finalists are selected based on:

  • The impact they have made on their work or their colleagues.
  • Their leadership qualities.
  • Their commitment to continuously improve government.
  • Their ability to make positive change happen.

Please direct your NextGen Public Service Awards questions to Emily Jarvis, [email protected].

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply