J. David Cox honored with prestigious public service award

The American Federation of Government Employees’ National Secretary-Treasurer J. David Cox received the prestigious 2012 Yitzhak Rabin Public Service Award at a dinner in his honor on Wednesday, May 9, 2012. The award was presented by the American Friends of the Yitzhak Rabin Center (AFYRC) and honors those whose work reflects the legacy of the late Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin.

“It has been a labor of love representing VA employees, federal employees, D.C. government employees and, of course, my union, the American Federation of Government Employees, for the past 26 years. The recognition of our union’s work to provide federal workers with job dignity, fair pay and adequate working conditions is an affirmation for AFGE that echoes Prime Minister Rabin’s belief in the labor movement,” said AFGE National Secretary-Treasurer J. David Cox.

The award dinner included a video tribute from President Bill Clinton and speeches from Yitzhak Rabin Center Chair Dalia Rabin, U.S. Rep. Steny Hoyer (Md.), United Mine Workers of America President Cecil Roberts, Laborers’ International Union of North America General President Terry O’Sullivan, AFGE National President John Gage and AFGE National Vice President for Women’s and Fair Practices Augusta Thomas.

The AFYRC is a non-profit organization that supports the mission of the Yitzhak Rabin Center in Tel Aviv. The Center is the official memorial to the slain Prime Minister Rabin, who dedicated his life to peace, leadership and public service.

Click to view slideshow.

Filed under: Community, Events Tagged: J. David Cox

Original post

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply