Purdue Professors Among Presidential Science, Engineering Award Recipients

The White House has chosen two researchers from Purdue University as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, an award for early-career independent research on science and engineering.

Jeffrey Karpicke of the College of Health and Human Sciences and Tamara Moore of the College of Engineering were selected for their work on cognitive sciences and engineering education, respectively, the university announced Monday.

Both were nominated by the National Science Foundation and are previous recipients of NSF’s Faculty Early Career Development award.

Karpicke, also nominated by the Education Department, was awarded for his study on student learning, particularly the retrieval practice found to develop longer information retention.

Moore was chosen for work as a professor at the University of Minnesota, where she focused on integrating engineering content with the K-12 curriculum and creating an instructional module on the STEM fields (science, technology, engineering and mathematics).

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply