And the NextGen Public Service Awards Finalists Are…

Each year, the NextGen Public Service Awards recognizes public servants who have gone above and beyond to serve their communities and organizations. This year over 120 public servants were nominated by their peers. A selection committee of current and former government employees selected thirty finalists.

Whether they work for federal, state, or local government, the finalists embody what it means to be a dedicated public servant. Assimilating veterans, developing communities, and working to protect our society’s most vulnerable are just some of their noble missions.

Without further ado, here are the finalists! (Click on their names for more details about their accomplishments).

  • Chanel Bankston-Carter: Director for Strategic Outreach and Center for Small Business Utilization, Veterans Administration

  • Kristina Beaugh: Public Affairs Specialist, Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS), Department of Agriculture

  • Eric Brown: Director, Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD), Prince George’s County, Maryland

  • Susan Brown: Director, Child Support Enforcement Agency (FCCSEA), Franklin County, Ohio

  • LaVerne Council: Assistant Secretary for Information and Technology (OI&T) and Chief Information Officer, Office of Information and Technology, Department of Veterans Affairs

  • Kelley Donaldson: Community Affairs Coordinator and Public Information Officer, Rancho Cucamonga Fire District, California

  • Vi Duong: Contract Specialist, Federal Systems Integration and Management Center (FEDSIM), General Services Administration

  • Crystal Francis: Program Analyst, Social Security Administration

  • Lynette Jamison: Air Traffic Control Senior Policy Specialist for US Notice to Airman System, Federal Aviation Administration

  • Clifton Kenon: Health Scientist, United States Agency for International Development

  • Theodore (Ted) Kientz: Branch Chief, C-IED/Asymmetric Warfare, Army Forces Command (FORSCOM)

  • Tyler Lloyd: Environmental Protection Specialist, Environmental Protection Agency

  • Carol Macha: Director, Office of Information and Technology, Department of Veterans Affairs

  • Richard Mansfield: Associate Chief Information Officer, Stakeholder Relations, Federal Communications Commission

  • Ashley Nealy: IT Specialist, Office of Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration, Department of the Treasury

  • Janise Nichols: Workplace Strategist, General Services Administration

  • Erin Quick: Acquisition Project Manager, Federal Systems Integration and Management Center (FEDSIM), General Services Administration

  • Richard Seim: Staff Psychologist, Education & Dissemination Core Center, Department of Veterans Affairs

  • Steve Sharkey: Director of the Department of General Services, City of Baltimore, Maryland

  • David Smith: National Program Manager, Facility Registry System (FRS), Environmental Protection Agency

  • Melody Stevens: Deputy Associate Director for Strategic Partnerships, National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • Marjette Upshur: Director of Economic Development, City of Lynchburg, Virginia

  • Izabela Wackowski-Norris: Forest Community Health Center Supervisor, Ingham County Health Department, Michigan

  • Jean Walsh: Communications Manager, Wastewater Division, San Francisco Public Utilities Commission (SFPUC), California

  • Ryan Riccucci: Science & Technology Directorate, Department of Homeland Security

  • Doniella McKoy: Continuity of Operations Planner, New York City Emergency Management (NYCEM), New York

  • Michael Fratina: Chief, Property Management Branch, National Institutes of Health

  • Stefanie Coons: Field Services Manager, Oregon Department of Transportation Driver & Motor Vehicle Services (DMV)

  • Christina Bui: Senior EEO Specialist/Team Lead, Employment Complaints and Adjudication Division, Office of Civil Rights, Department of the Interior

  • David Bray: Senior Executive and Chief Information Officer, Federal Communications Commission

  • The NextGen Public Service Awards Ceremony and Reception will be held Tuesday, August 2 at the Renaissance Downtown DC Hotel in Washington, D.C. from 4:45 PM – 7:00 PM, immediately following the end of the two-day Next Generation of Government Training Summit.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply